top of page

Austin Film Critics Association awards: Minari wins Best Film

Han Ye Ri and Noel Cho in Lee Isaac Chung's Minari
Han Ye Ri and Noel Cho in Minari

As the major televised awards have started being broadcast and industry nominations have all been announced, the narrative of the Oscar race has begun to consolidate its disparate threads in pursuit of a unified objective, with Nomadland seemingly at the heart of that goal. Not so for the Austin Film Critics Association, ever idiosyncratic, who've today named Minari their Best Film of the 2020/21 movie season. They announced their own nominations just a week ago, though what few fellow movie awards announcements have passed in that space make it feel like only yesterday - Minari led there and leads here still, with an extremely impressive haul of six prizes. There was space yet for Nomadland, though, as it wins three. All the details below.

Best Film

  1. Minari (Lee Isaac Chung)

  2. Nomadland

  3. Promising Young Woman

  4. First Cow

  5. Never Rarely Sometimes Always

  6. One Night in Miami

  7. Palm Springs / Sound of Metal

  8. N/A

  9. The Invisible Man / Mank

Best Director

Lee Isaac Chung (Minari)

Best Actress

Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman)

Best Actor

Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal)

Best Supporting Actress

Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)

Best Supporting Actor

Daniel Kaluuya (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Best Original Screenplay

Lee Isaac Chung (Minari)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Ensemble


Best Cinematography

Joshua James Richards (Nomadland)

Best Editing

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Score

Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Soul)

Best Stunts

The Invisible Man

Best Animated Film

Wolfwalkers (Tomm Moore and Ross Stewart)

Best Documentary

Boys State (Amanda McBaine and Jesse Moss)

Best Foreign Language Film

Minari (Lee Isaac Chung)

Best First Film

Promising Young Woman (Emerald Fennell)

The Robert R. "Bobby" McCurdy Memorial Breakthrough Artist Award

Radha Blank (The Forty-Year-Old Version)

Best Motion Capture / Special Effects Performance

Elisabeth Moss (The Invisible Man)

Austin Film Award

Greenland (Ric Roman Waugh)

Special Honorary "Texas Spirit" Award

Miss Juneteenth


bottom of page