top of page

American Society of Cinematographers announces 2019 award nominations

Updated: Jan 26, 2020

Joaquin Phoenix in Todd Phillips' Joker
Joaquin Phoenix in Joker

A predictable array of nominees features in the American Society of Cinematographers' best-of list for 2019. There's Roger Deakins, looking for his 5th competitive ASC prize on his 16th nomination, alongside Robert Richardson on his 11th. None of the Theatrical Release category's nominees surprise me, nor its Spotlight Award nominees, worthy as they all may be. Award winners will be announced on the 25th of January.

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography - Theatrical Release

Roger Deakins (1917)

Phedon Papamichael (Ford v. Ferrari)

Rodrigo Prieto (The Irishman)

Robert Richardson (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Lawrence Sher (Joker)

Spotlight Award

Jarin Blaschke (The Lighthouse)

Natasha Braier (Honey Boy)

Jasper Wolf (Monos)

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography - Documentary

Fejmi Daut and Samira Ljuma (Honeyland)

Nicholas de Pencier (Anthropocene: The Human Epoch)

Evangelia Kranioti (Obscura Barroco)

Image credit: MovieStillsDB

13 views0 comments


bottom of page