top of page

American Cinema Editors announce 2020/21 Eddie Awards nominees

Rosamund Pike in J. Blakeson's I Care a Lot
Rosamund Pike in I Care a Lot

And with this, there's only one major group left to announce its nominees for the best in film for the 2020/21 movie season: AMPAS. The American Cinema Editors has unveiled the nominations for its 71st annual Eddie Awards. Given the lack of major comedy contenders at awards this year, ACE's choices in the Dramatic category here look like a solid five to predict for next week's Oscar nods, though watch out for Promising Young Woman, featuring here as a comedy. Winners will be announced on the 17th of April.

Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic)

Alan Baumgarten (The Trial of the Chicago 7)

Kirk Baxter (Mank)

Mikkel E. G. Nielsen (Sound of Metal)

Harry Yoon (Minari)

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy)

Craig Alpert, Mike Giambra and James Thomas (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Andrew Dickler and Matthew Friedman (Palm Springs)

Mark Eckersley (I Care a Lot)

Sarah Flack (On the Rocks)

Frederic Thoraval (Promising Young Woman)

Best Edited Animated Feature Film

Catherine Apple (Onward)

Darragh Byrne, Richie Cody and Darren Holmes (Wolfwalkers)

Edie Ichioka (Over the Moon)

Kevin Nolting (Soul)

James Ryan (The Croods: A New Age)

Best Edited Documentary (Feature)

Nels Bangerter (Dick Johnson Is Dead)

Davis Coombe (The Social Dilemma)

Pippa Ehrlich and Dan Schwalm (My Octopus Teacher)

Scott D. Hanson, James Leche, Wyatt Rogowski and Avner Shiloah (The Dissident)

Nancy Novack (All In: The Fight for Democracy)


bottom of page