top of page

Alliance of Women Film Journalists announces 2022 award winners

Kerry Condon, The Banshees of Inisherin, Martin McDonagh, Alliance of Women Film Journalists
Kerry Condon in The Banshees of Inisherin

The Banshees of Inisherin is the Alliance of Women Film Journalists' favourite film of 2022! It takes four awards here, including Best Film, but not Best Director: that goes instead to Women Talking's Sarah Polley, and that film also wins four. And another quadruple-honoree in the 2022 EDA awards is Everything Everywhere All at Once - no prizes, however, for guessing what these voters' three favourite movies of last year are! The Woman King, meanwhile, snags two prizes, and a further for Viola Davis. Check out these awards' nominations here, and the award winners below.

Best Film

The Banshees of Inisherin

Best Director

Sarah Polley (Women Talking)

Best Actress

Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Actor

Colin Farrell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Best Supporting Actress

Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Jamie Lee Curtis (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Supporting Actor

Quan Ke Huy (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Original Screenplay

Martin McDonagh (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Sarah Polley (Women Talking)

Best Cinematography

Claudio Miranda (Top Gun: Maverick)

Polly Morgan (The Woman King)

Best Editing

Paul Rogers (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Ensemble Cast (Casting Director)

Women Talking (John Buchan and Jason Knight)

Best Animated Film

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio (Guillermo del Toro and Mark Gustafson)

Best Documentary

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed (Laura Poitras)

Best Non-English-Language Film

Decision to Leave RRR

EDA Female Focus Awards

Best Woman Director

Gina Prince-Bythewood (The Woman King)

Best Woman Screenwriter

Sarah Polley (Women Talking)

Best Woman's Breakthrough Performance

Danielle Deadwyler (Till)

Best Animated Female

'Connie' - Isabella Rossellini (Marcel the Shell with Shoes On)

Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Film Industry

Viola Davis - for getting The Woman King made as her lifetime passion project, and creating opportunities for other women creatives

EDA Special Mention Awards

Most Daring Performance

Emma Thompson (Good Luck to You, Leo Grande)

Grand Dame Award for Defying Ageism

Emma Thompson

Time Waster Remake or Sequel Award

Jurassic World: Dominion

She Deserves a New Agent Award

Ana de Armas (Blonde)

Most Egregious Lovers' Age Difference Award

Crimes of the Future (Viggo Mortensen and Lea Seydoux)

Hall of Shame Award

Harvey Weinstein - for everything and forever


bottom of page