top of page

Aftersun leads 2022 BIFA nominations with 16

Paul Mescal, Frankie Corio, Aftersun, Charlotte Wells
Paul Mescal and Frankie Corio in Aftersun

The British Independent Film Awards may have a wealth of titles to choose from each year, yet somehow they always seem to shower, nay drown a selection of movies in double-digit nomination hauls. This year, women directors lead the field with recent period pieces about queer female protagonists - Charlotte Wells' Aftersun scores a whopping 16 nods, and Georgia Oakley's Blue Jean scores 13. Closely behind that is Sebastian Lelio's The Wonder with 12, and the Best Film category is filled out by Oliver Hermanus' Living with nine, and Sophie Hyde's Good Luck to You, Leo Grande with four. In the coming weeks, the recipient of the Richard Harris Award for oustanding contribution to British Film by an actor will be announced, while the winners are set to be revealed at BIFA's awards ceremony on the 4th of December.

Best British Independent Film

Aftersun (Mark Ceryak, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins, Adele Romanski and Charlotte Wells)

Blue Jean (Georgia Oakley and Helene Sifre)

Good Luck to You, Leo Grande (Katy Brand, Debbie Gray, Sophie Hyde and Adrian Politowski)

Living (Oliver Hermanus, Kazuo Ishiguro, Elizabeth Karlsen and Stephen Woolley)

The Wonder (Alice Birch, Emma Donoghue, Ed Guiney, Juliette Howell, Sebastian Lelio, Andrew Lowe and Tessa Ross)

Best Director

Oliver Hermanus (Living)

Sophie Hyde (Good Luck to You, Leo Grande)

Sebastian Lelio (The Wonder)

Georgia Oakley (Blue Jean)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Best Lead Performance

Sally Hawkins (The Lost King)

Cosmo Jarvis (It Is in Us All)

Emma Mackey (Emily)

Rosy McEwen (Blue Jean)

Bill Nighy (Living)

Florence Pugh (The Wonder)

Emily Watson (God's Creatures)

Hala Zein (Nezouh)

Best Joint Lead Performance

Jessie Buckley and Rory Kinnear (Men)

Frankie Corio and Paul Mescal (Aftersun)

Tamara Lawrance and Letitia Wright (The Silent Twins)

Daryl McCormack and Emma Thompson (Good Luck to You, Leo Grande)

Best Supporting Performance

Zoey Deutch (The Outfit)

Aisling Franciosi (God's Creatures)

Lucy Halliday (Blue Jean)

Kerrie Hayes (Blue Jean)

Zainab Joda (Our River... Our Sky)

Fatma Mohamed (Flux Gourmet)

Paul Mescal (God's Creatures)

Fionn Whitehead (Emily)

Aimee Lou Wood (Living)

Best Screenplay

Alice Birch, Emma Donoghue and Sebastian Lelio (The Wonder)

Katy Brand (Good Luck to You, Leo Grande)

Kazuo Ishiguro (Living)

Georgia Oakley (Blue Jean)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Best Cinematography

Alfredo de Juan (Nascondino (Hide & Seek))

Rob Hardy (Men)

Joel Honeywell (Kanaval: A People's History of Haiti in Six Chapters)

Gregory Oke (Aftersun)

Ari Wegner (The Wonder)

Best Editing

Joanna Crickmay (Elizabeth: A Portrait in Parts)

Izabella Curry (Blue Jean)

Fekete Matyas (Flux Gourmet)

Mick Mahon (Nothing Compares)

Blair McClendon (Aftersun)

Best Production Design

Fletcher Jarvis (Flux Gourmet)

Grant Montgomery (The Wonder)

Helen Scott (Living)

Billur Turan (Aftersun)

Gary Williamson (Medusa Deluxe)

Best Costume Design

Jenny Beavan (Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris)

Saffron Cullane (Flux Gourmet)

Odile Dicks-Mireaux (The Wonder)

Frank Gallacher (Aftersun)

Sandy Powell (Living)

Best Sound

Jovan Ajder (Aftersun)

Ben Baird and Hugh Fox (The Wonder)

Howard Bargoff, Ben Barker, GIllian Dodders, Glenn Freemantle and Mitch Low (Men)

Raoul Brand, Tim Harrison and Cassandra Rutledge (Flux Gourmet)

Dom Corbisiero and Dai Shell (The Feast)

Best Effects

Chris Marshall (The Feast)

David Simpson (Men)

Ahmed Yousry (Nezouh)

Best Make-Up & Hair Design

Oya Aygor and Murat Cagin (Aftersun)

Morna Ferguson and Lorri Ann King (The Wonder)

Siobhan Harper-Ryan (Flux Gourmet)

Niamh Morrison (The Origin)

Scarlett O'Connell and Eugene Souleiman (Medusa Deluxe)

Best Original Music

Geoff Barrow and Ben Salisbury (Men)

Danny Bensi and Saunder Jurriaans (God's Creatures)

Oliver Coates (Aftersun)

Matthew Herbert (The Wonder)

Adam Janota Bzowski (The Origin)

Best Music Supervision

Lucy Bright (Aftersun)

Phil Canning (The Phantom of the Open)

Rupert Hollier (Living)

Best Casting

Shaheen Baig (Blue Jean)

Leila Bertrand (Our River... Our Sky)

Kharmel Cochrane (The Silent Twins)

Kahleen Crawford (Living)

Lucy Pardee (Aftersun)

Best Ensemble Performance

Blue Jean (Stacy Abalogun, Amy Booth-Steel, Farrah Cave, Lucy Halliday, Kerrie Hayes, Rosy McEwen and Lydia Page)

Emily (Alexandra Dowling, Adrian Dunbar, Amelia Gething, Oliver Jackson-Cohen, Gemma Jones, Emma Mackey and Fionn Whitehead)

Flux Gourmet (Richard Bremmer, Asa Butterfield, Gwendoline Christie, Ariane Laed, Fatma Mohamed and Makis Papadimitriou)

Our River... Our Sky (Meriam Abbas, Mahmoud Abo al Abbas, Darina al Joundi, Labwa Arab, Basim Hajar, Amed Hashimi, Zainab Joda and Siham Mustafa)

The Wonder (Niamh Algar, Tom Burke, Elaine Cassidy, Ciaran Hinds, Toby Jones, Kila Lord Cassidy, Brian F. O'Byrne, Florence Pugh and Josie Walker)

Best Feature Documentary

My Childhood, My Country - 20 Years in Afghanistan (Phil Grabsky, Shoaib Sharifi and Amanda Wilkie)

My Old School (John Archer, Olivia Lichtenstein and Jono McLeod)

Nascondino (Hide & Seek) (Aleksandra Bilic, Jennifer Corcoran and Victoria Fiore)

Nothing Compares (Eleanor Emptage, Kathyn Ferguson and Michael Mallie)

Young Plato (Neasa ni Chianain, Declan McGrath and David Rane)

Best International Independent Film

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed (Howard Gertler, Nan Goldin, Yoni Golijov, John Lyons and Laura Poitras)

Close (Lukas Dhont, Michiel Dhont, Dirk Impens and Angelo Tijssens)

Decision to Leave (Chung Seo Kyung and Park Chan Wook)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Daniel Kwan, Mike Larocca, Anthony Russo, Joe Russo, Daniel Scheinert and Jonathan Wang)

The Worst Person in the World (Andrea Berentsen Ottmar, Thomas Robsahm, Joachim Trier and Eskil Vogt)

Breakthrough Producer Award

Aleksandra Bilic and Jennifer Corcoran (Nascondino (Hide & Seek))

Paul Kennedy (Nightride)

Rupert Majendie (Brian and Charles)

Nadira Murray (Winners)

Helene Sifre (Blue Jean)

The Douglas Hickox Award for Best Debut Director

Andrew Dumming (The Origin)

Thomas Hardiman (Medusa Deluxe)

Frances O'Connor (Emily)

Georgia Oakley (Blue Jean)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Breakthrough Performance Award

Frankie Corio (Aftersun)

Leo Long (I Used to Be Famous)

Kila Lord Cassidy (The Wonder)

Rosy McEwen (Blue Jean)

Safia Oakley-Green (The Origin)

Best Debut Screenwriter

Shane Crowley (God's Creatures)

David Earl and Chris Hayward (Brian and Charles)

Ruth Greenberg (The Origin)

Georgia Oakley (Blue Jean)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Best Debut Director - Feature Documentary

Kathryn Ferguson (Nothing Compares)

Victoria Fiore (Nascondino (Hide & Seek))

Leah Gordon and Edde Hutton-Mills (Kanaval: A People's History of Haiti in Six Chapters)

Becky Hutner (Fashion Reimagined)

Jono McLeod (My Old School)

The Raindance Discovery Award

Electric Malady (Marie Liden and Aimara Reques)

Fadia's Tree (Sarah Beddington and Susan Simnett)

Off the Rails (Rob Alexander, Peter Day and Grant Keir)

Rebellion (Maia Kenworthy, Kat Mansoor and Elena Sanchez Bellot)

Winners (Nadira Murray, Hassan Nazer and Paul Welsh)

Best British Short Film

A Fox in the Night (Keeran Anwar Blessie and Benjamin Jacob Smith)

Honesty (Elly Camisa, Emily Renee and Roxy Rezvany)

Sandstorm (Seemab Gul and Abid Aziz Merchant)

Scale (Helene Mitjavile and Joseph Pierce)

Too Rough (Alfredo Covelli, Sean Lionadh and Ross McKenzie)


bottom of page