3rd annual Online Association of Female Film Critics award nominations announced

Lu Hong, Zhao Shu Zhen and Awkwafina in The Farewell

The Online Association of Female Film Critics has announced the nominees for its 2019 awards. This will be the third year the OAFFC has given out prizes, and we already know which Best Film behemoth won't be competing: The Irishman isn't among the top five here, making this the first slate of top award nominations it's missed (out of those for which it's been eligible).

I'm always grateful for the presence of female-only critics groups, as they do a much better job of highlighting the work of female artists than most others tend to do. While I'm disappointed to see Greta Gerwig's Little Women get pretty short shrift, I'm heartened to see both Alma Har'el and Lulu Wang nominated for Best Director - deserving mentions without doubt.

Check back on the 23rd of December to find out who's won!

Best Film

The Farewell

Jojo Rabbit

Marriage Story

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood


Best Director

Bong Joon Ho (Parasite)

Alma Har'el (Honey Boy)

Martin Scorsese (The Irishman)

Quentin Tarantino (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Lulu Wang (The Farewell)

Best Female Lead

Awkwafina (The Farewell)

Jessie Buckley (Wild Rose)

Scarlett Johansson (Marriage Story)

Lupita Nyong'o (Us)

Renee Zellweger (Judy)

Best Male Lead

Leonardo DiCaprio (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Adam Driver (Marriage Story)

Taron Egerton (Rocketman)

Joaquin Phoenix (Joker)

Adam Sandler (Uncut Gems)

Best Supporting Female

Ana de Armas (Knives Out)

Laura Dern (Marriage Story)

Jennifer Lopez (Hustlers)

Margot Robbie (Bombshell)

Zhao Shu Zhen (The Farewell)

Best Supporting Male

Sterling K. Brown (Waves)

Willem Dafoe (The Lighthouse)

Shia LaBeouf (Honey Boy)

Joe Pesci (The Irishman)

Brad Pitt (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Original Screenplay

Noah Baumbach (Marriage Story)

Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won (Parasite)

Rian Johnson (Knives Out)

Quentin Tarantino (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Lulu Wang (The Farewell)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Greta Gerwig (Little Women)

Anthony McCarten (The Two Popes)

Lorene Scafaria (Hustlers)

Taika Waititi (Jojo Rabbit)

Steven Zaillian (The Irishman)

Best Cinematography

Jarin Blaschke (The Lighthouse)

Roger Deakins (1917)

Claire Mathon (Portrait of a Lady on Fire)

Robert Richardson (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Hoyte van Hoytema (Ad Astra)

Best Acting Ensemble

The Irishman

Knives Out

Little Women

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood


Best Animated Feature

Frozen II

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World

I Lost My Body

Missing Link

Toy Story 4

Best Documentary

American Factory

Apollo 11

Hail Satan?


One Child Nation

Breakthrough Filmmaker Award

Alma Har'el (Honey Boy)

Melina Matsoukas (Queen & Slim)

Joe Talbot (The Last Black Man in San Francisco)

Lulu Wang (The Farewell)

Olivia Wilde (Booksmart)

Breakthrough Performance Award

Zack Gottsagen (The Peanut Butter Falcon)

Roman Griffin Davis (Jojo Rabbit)

Kelvin Harrison Jr. (Waves)

Noah Jupe (Honey Boy)

Florence Pugh (Midsommar)

The Rosie (celebrating the film that best promotes women, their voices, and the female experience through cinema)



Little Women

The Nightingale

Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Image credit: MovieStillsDB

9 views0 comments
Contact Us