top of page

2022 Spirit Award nominations announced: EEAAO and Tar dominate

Cate Blanchett, Tar, Todd Field
Cate Blanchett in Tar

Awards season has finally begun! Film Independent has announced the nominees for its 2022 awards, with two crowdpleasers leading the pack. Todd Field's Tar earns seven nominations, including Best Feature, Director and Lead Performance, though its impressive haul is outdone by Daniels Kwan and Scheinert's Everything Everywhere All at Once. The critical and commercial hit from A24 earns eight nominations, including in those same three top categories. It'll likely be a close race between the two movies here, though by the time the winners are announced, you never know what'll have transpired - we'll have to wait until 4 March to find out.

Best Feature

Bones and All (Timothee Chalamet, Luca Guadagnino, David Kajganich, Francesco Melzi d'Eril, Lorenzo Mieli, Marco Morabito, Gabriela Moratti, Theresa Park and Peter Spears)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Daniel Kwan, Mike Larocca, Anthony Russo, Joe Russo, Daniel Scheinert and Jonathan Wang)

Our Father, the Devil (Ellie Foumbi and Joseph Mastantuono)

Tar (Todd Field, Scott Lambert and Alexandra Milchan)

Women Talking (Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner and Frances McDormand)

Best Director

Todd Field (Tar)

Kogonada (After Yang)

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Sarah Polley (Women Talking)

Halina Reijn (Bodies Bodies Bodies)

Best Lead Performance

Cate Blanchett (Tar)

Dale Dickey (A Love Song)

Mia Goth (Pearl)

Regina Hall (Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul)

Paul Mescal (Aftersun)

Aubrey Plaza (Emily the Criminal)

Jeremy Pope (The Inspection)

Andrea Riseborough (To Leslie)

Taylor Russell (Bones and All)

Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Supporting Performance

Jamie Lee Curtis (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Brian d'Arcy James (The Cathedral)

Brian Tyree Henry (Causeway)

Nina Hoss (Tar)

Quan Ke Huy (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Trevante Rhodes (Bruiser)

Theo Rossi (Emily the Criminal)

Mark Rylance (Bones and All)

Jonathan Tucker (Palm Trees and Power Lines)

Gabrielle Union (The Inspection)

Best Screenplay

Lena Dunham (Catherine Called Birdy)

Todd Field (Tar)

Kogonada (After Yang)

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Sarah Polley (Women Talking)

Best Cinematography

Florian Hoffmeister (Tar)

Helene Louvart (Murina)

Gregory Oke (Aftersun)

Eliot Rockett (Pearl)

Anisia Uzeyman (Neptune Frost)

Best Editing

Ricky d'Ambrose (The Cathedral)

Dean Fleischer-Camp and Nick Paley (Marcel the Shell with Shoes On)

Blair McClendon (Aftersun)

Paul Rogers (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Monika Willi (Tar)

Best Documentary

All That Breathes (Teddy Leifer, Aman Mann and Shaunak Sen)

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed (Howard Gertler, Nan Goldin, Yoni Golijov, John Lyons and Laura Poitras)

A House Made of Splinters (Monica Hellstrom and Simon Lereng Wilmont)

Midwives (Mila Aung-Thwin, Hnin Ei Hlaing, Ulla Lehmann and Bob Moore)

Riotsville, U.S.A. (Sara Archambault, Sierra Pettengill and Jamila Wignot)

Best International Film

Corsage (Marie Kreutzer)

Joyland (Saim Sadiq)

Leonor Will Never Die (Martika Ramirez Escobar)

Return to Seoul (Davy Chou)

Saint Omer (Alice Diop)

Best First Feature

Aftersun (Mark Ceryak, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins, Adele Romanski and Charlotte Wells)

Emily the Criminal (Tyler Davidson, John Patton Ford, Aubrey Plaza and Drew Sykes)

The Inspection (Chester Algernal Gordon, Elegance Bratton and Effie T. Brown)

Murina (Antoneta Alamat Kusijanovic, Danijel Pek and Rodrigo Teixeira)

Palm Trees and Power Lines (Leah Chen Baker and Jamie Dack)

Best Breakthrough Performance

Frankie Corio (Aftersun)

Gracija Filipovic (Murina)

Stephanie Hsu (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Lily McInerny (Palm Trees and Power Lines)

Daniel Zolghadri (Funny Pages)

Best First Screenplay

Jamie Dack and Audrey Findlay (Palm Trees and Power Lines)

K. D. Davila (Emergency)

Sarah DeLappe and Kristen Roupenian (Bodies Bodies Bodies)

Joel Kim Booster (Fire Island)

John Patton Ford (Emily the Criminal)

John Cassavetes Award for Best Feature Made for Under $1,000,000

The African Desperate (Vic Brooks, Rocket Caleshu and Martine Syms)

The Cathedral (Ricky d'Ambrose and Graham Swon)

Holy Emy (Mathieu Bompoint, Giulia Caruso, Ki Jin Kim, Araceli Lemos and Konstantinos Vassilaros)

A Love Song (Jesse Hope, Dan Janvey and Max Walker-Silverman)

Something in the Dirt (Justin Benson, David Lawson Jr. and Aaron Moorhead)

Robert Altman Award

Women Talking (Sarah Polley (director), John Buchan and Jason Knight (casting directors), and Shayla Brown, Jessie Buckley, Claire Foy, Kira Guloien, Kate Hallett, Judith Ivey, Rooney Mara, Sheila McCarthy, Frances McDormand, Michelle McLeod, Liv McNeil, Ben Whishaw and August Winter (ensemble cast))

Producers Award

Liz Cardenos

David Grove Churchill Viste

Tory Lenosky

Someone to Watch Award

Adamma Ebo (Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul.)

Nikyatu Jusu (Nanny)

Araceli Lemos (Holy Emy)

Truer Than Fiction Award

Isabel Castro (Mija)

Reid Davenport (I Didn't See You There)

Rebeca Huntt (Beba)


bottom of page