top of page

2022 San Francisco Bay Area Film Critics Circle awards nominations announced

Kerry Condon, Barry Keoghan, The Banshees of Inisherin, Martin McDonagh, San Francisco Bay Area Film Critics Circle
Kerry Condon and Barry Keoghan in The Banshees of Inisherin

One of the most prestigious critics' groups' awards to win each awards season is a San Francisco Bay Area Film Critics Circle's prize. And so those movies and individuals up for their 2022 awards will likely be most honoured to be included. None have been more honoured by the SFBAFCC, so far at least, than The Banshees of Inisherin, which scores the most nominations here with 11. Behind it are Everything Everywhere All at Once with eight and Tar with seven, all including Best Picture. Winners will be announced in just two days' time, on 8 January.

Best Picture

The Banshees of Inisherin

Everything Everywhere All at Once

The Fabelmans


Women Talking

Best Director

Todd Field (Tar)

Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Martin McDonagh (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Sarah Polley (Women Talking)

Steven Spielberg (The Fabelmans)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett (Tar)

Danielle Deadwyler (Till)

Mia Goth (Pearl)

Aubrey Plaza (Emily the Criminal)

Emma Thompson (Good Luck to You, Leo Grande)

Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Actor

Austin Butler (Elvis)

Colin Farrell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Brendan Fraser (The Whale)

Paul Mescal (Aftersun)

Bill Nighy (Living)

Best Supporting Actress

Angela Bassett (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)

Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Jamie Lee Curtis (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Dolly de Leon (Triangle of Sadness)

Claire Foy (Women Talking)

Nina Hoss (Tar)

Best Supporting Actor

Brendan Gleeson (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Tom Hanks (Elvis)

Anthony Hopkins (Armageddon Time)

Barry Keoghan (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Quan Ke Huy (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Ben Whishaw (Women Talking)

Best Original Screenplay

Todd Field (Tar)

Tony Kushner and Steven Spielberg (The Fabelmans)

Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Martin McDonagh (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Samuel D. Hunter (The Whale)

Kazuo Ishiguro (Living)

Rian Johnson (Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery)

Rebecca Lenkiewicz (She Said)

Sarah Polley (Women Talking)

Best Cinematography

Ben Davis (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Florian Hoffmeister (Tar)

Janusz Kaminski (The Fabelmans)

Kim Ji Yong (Decision to Leave)

Claudio Miranda (Top Gun: Maverick)

Linus Sandgren (Babylon)

Best Film Editing

Tom Cross (Babylon)

Eddie Hamilton (Top Gun: Maverick)

Blair McClendon (Aftersun)

Mikkel E. G. Nielsen (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Paul Rogers (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Monika Willi (Tar)

Best Production Design

Hannah Beachler and Lisa K. Sessions (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)

Anthony Carlino and Florencia Martin (Babylon)

Kelsi Ephraim and Jason Kisvarday (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Elli Griff and Rick Heinrichs (Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery)

Michael Standish and Mark Tildesley (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Best Original Score

Carter Burwell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Alexandre Desplat (Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio)

Hildur Gudnadottir (Women Talking)

Justin Hurwitz (Babylon)

John Williams (The Fabelmans)

Best Animated Feature

Apollo 10 1/2: A Space Age Childhood

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio

Marcel the Shell with Shoes On

Puss in Boots: The Last Wish

Turning Red

Best Documentary Feature

All That Breathes

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed

Bad Axe

Fire of Love

Good Night Oppy


Best International Feature Film

All Quiet on the Western Front

Argentina, 1985


Decision to Leave


Special Citation for Independent Cinema





bottom of page