top of page

2022 International Cinephile Society awards nominations announced

Updated: Jan 23, 2023

Benoit Magimel, Pacifiction, Albert Serra, International Cinephile Society
Benoit Magimel in Pacifiction

The International Cinephile Society celebrates its 20th annual awards this year with 20 nominees for Best Picture! Leading all nominees is Charlotte Wells' Aftersun, which claims ten nods across the ICS' 18 categories, while Albert Serra's Pacifiction is right behind it with nine. Both are up for top awards Best Picture, Director, Actor and Original Screenplay. Six of the group's Top 20 for the year are directed by women, which, should it translate into next week's Oscar nominees, would make for three out of their ten: sadly, an unlikely prospective. Winners for the ICS' 20th awards will be announced on 12 February. You can see all the nominees below.

Best Picture



The Banshees of Inisherin


Crimes of the Future

Decision to Leave


The Fabelmans


The Maiden

The Novelist's Film


Saint Omer

Saturn Bowling

Showing Up


Tommy Guns

Trenque Lauquen


You Have to Come and See It

Best Director

Laura Citarella (Trenque Lauquen)

Alice Diop (Saint Omer)

Todd Field (Tar)

Patricia Mazuy (Saturn Bowling)

Albert Serra (Pacifiction)

Jerzy Skolimowski (EO)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett (Tar)

Vicky Krieps (Corsage)

Guslagie Malanda (Saint Omer)

Rosy McEwen (Blue Jean)

Park Ji Min (Return to Seoul)

Tang Wei (Decision to Leave)

Best Actor

Colin Farrell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Cosmo Jarvis (It Is In Us All)

Benoit Magimel (Pacifiction)

Luca Marinelli (The Eight Mountains)

Paul Mescal (Aftersun)

Park Hae Il (Decision to Leave)

Best Supporting Actress

Chau Hong (Showing Up)

Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Dolly de Leon (Triangle of Sadness)

Pahoa Mahagafanau (Pacifiction)

Kristen Stewart (Crimes of the Future)

Michelle Williams (The Fabelmans)

Best Supporting Actor

Alessandro Borghi (The Eight Mountains)

Barry Keoghan (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Quan Ke Huy (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Achille Reggiani (Saturn Bowling)

Ingvar Sigurdsson (Godland)

Luis Zahera (The Beasts)

Best Original Screenplay

Aftersun (Charlotte Wells)

The Banshees of Inisherin (Martin McDonagh)

Pacifiction (Baptiste Pinteaux and Albert Serra)

Saint Omer (Amrita David, Alice Diop and Marie N'Diaye)

Tar (Todd Field)

Trenque Lauquen (Laura Citarella and Laura Paredes)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Bones and All (David Kajganich)

Both Sides of the Blade (Claire Denis)

The Eight Mountains (Charlotte Vandermeersch and Felix van Groeningen)

EO (Ewa Piaskowska and Jerzy Skolimowski) A Flower in the Mouth (Eric Beaudelaire and Anne-Louise Trividic)

Women Talking (Sarah Polley and Miriam Toews)

Best Cinematography

Aftersun (Gregory Oke)

Decision to Leave (Kim Ji Yong)

EO (Michal Dymek)

Godland (Maria von Hausswolff)

The Kings of the World (David Gallego)

Pacifiction (Artur Tort)

Best Editing

Aftersun (Blair McClendon)

Decision to Leave (Kim Sang Beom)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Paul Rogers)

Moonage Daydream (Brett Morgen)

Pacifiction (Ariadna Ribas, Albert Serra and Artur Tort)

Tar (Monika Willi)

Best Production Design

Bardo, False Chronicle of a Handful of Truths (Eugenio Caballero)

Coma (Anna Bonello, Gaston Portejoie and Daphne Yvon)

Crimes of the Future (Dimitris Katsikis, Carol Spier and Kimberley Zaharko)

Decision to Leave (Ryu Seong Hie)

Pacifiction (Sebastian Vogler)

Saturn Bowling (Thierry Francois and Dorian Maloine)

Best Sound Design

Aftersun (Jovan Ajder)

EO (Suraj Bardia, Radoslaw Ochnio and Marta Weronska)

Nope (Johnnie Burn and Jose Antonio Garcia)

Pacifiction (Jordi Ribas)

Tar (Deb Adair, Stephen Griffiths, Andy Shelley, Steve Single and Roland Winke)

Unrest (Guido Keller, Miguel Moraes Cabral and Roland Widmer)

Best Score

Aftersun (Oliver Coates)

Crimes of the Future (Howard Shore)

Decision to Leave (Jo Yeong Wook)

EO (Pawel Mykietyn)

Nope (Michael Abels)

Stars at Noon (Tindersticks)

Best Ensemble


The Banshees of Inisherin

The Fabelmans

Forever Young

Trenque Lauquen

Triangle of Sadness

Best Animated Film

Apollo 10 1/2: A Space Age Childhood (Richard Linklater)

Fairytale (Aleksandr Sokurov)

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio (Guillermo del Toro)

Inu-Oh (Yuasa Masaaki)

Marcel the Shell with Shoes On (Dean Fleischer-Camp)

No Dogs or Italians Allowed (Alain Ughetto)

Best Documentary

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed (Laura Poitras)

Anhell69 (Theo Montoya)

De Humani Corporis Fabrica (Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Paravel)

Malintzin 17 (Eugenio Polgovsky and Mara Polgovsky Ezcurra)

Moonage Daydream (Brett Morgen)

Tales of the Purple House (Abbas Fahdel)

Best Debut Feature

Aftersun (Charlotte Wells)

Blue Jean (Georgia Oakley)

Eismayer (David Wagner)

It Is in Us All (Antonia Campbell-Hughes)

The Maiden (Graham Foy)

Safe Place (Juraj Lerotic)

Saint Omer (Alice Diop)

Best Breakthrough Performance

Frankie Corio (Aftersun)

Eden Dambrine (Close)

Kayjie Kagame (Saint Omer)

Gabriel LaBelle (The Fabelmans)

Guslagie Malanda (Saint Omer)

Nadia Tereszkiewicz (Forever Young)


bottom of page