top of page

2022 Gotham Awards nominations announced

Updated: Nov 29, 2022

Cate Blanchett, Nina Hoss, Tar, Todd Field
Cate Blanchett and Nina Hoss in Tar

Tar-rific! Todd Field's Tar takes poll position in the nominations for the 2022 Gotham Awards, with five nods across four categories, including for three of its actors. It's joined in Best Feature by two more movies evidently popular with the committee voters: Aftersun and Everything Everywhere All at Once, picking up four and three nominations respectively. And, though it's not surprising to see this chez Gotham, the other two Best Feature slots are taken by a couple of properly left-field picks without any mentions elsewhere: Ricky d'Ambrose's The Cathedral and Juan Pablo Gonzalez's Dos Estaciones. Winners will be announced during the awards ceremony on 28 November.

Best Feature

Aftersun (Mark Ceryak, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins, Adele Romanski and Charlotte Wells)

The Cathedral (Ricky d'Ambrose and Graham Swon)

Dos Estaciones (Makena Buchanan, Ilana Coleman, Jamie Goncalves, Juan Pablo Gonzalez and Bruna Haddad)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Daniel Kwan, Mike Larocca, Anthony Russo, Joe Russo, Daniel Scheinert and Jonathan Wang)

Tar (Todd Field, Scott Lambert and Alexandra Milchan)

Outstanding Lead Performance

Cate Blanchett (Tar)

Danielle Deadwyler (Till)

Dale Dickey (A Love Song)

Colin Farrell (After Yang)

Brendan Fraser (The Whale)

Paul Mescal (Aftersun)

Thandiwe Newton (God's Country)

Aubrey Plaza (Emily the Criminal)

Taylor Russell (Bones and All)

Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Outstanding Supporting Performance

Raul Castillo (The Inspection)

Chau Hong (The Whale)

Brian Tyree Henry (Causeway)

Nina Hoss (Tar)

Noemie Merlant (Tar)

Quan Ke Huy (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Mark Rylance (Bones and All)

Gabrielle Union (The Inspection)

Screenplay Award

Lena Dunham (Catherine Called Birdy)

Todd Field (Tar)

James Gray (Armageddon Time)

Kogonada (After Yang)

Sarah Polley (Women Talking)

Documentary Feature Award

All That Breathes (Teddy Leifer, Aman Mann and Shaunak Sen)

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed (Howard Gertler, Nan Goldin, Yoni Golijov, John Lyons and Laura Poitras)

I Didn't See You There (Reid Davenport and Keith Wilson)

The Territory (Darren Aronofsky, Sigrid Dyekjaer, Lizzie Gillett, Will N. Miller, Alex Pritz and Gabriel Uchida)

What We Leave Behind (Isidore Bethel, Emma D. Miller and Iliana Sosa)

International Feature Award

Athena (Charles-Marie Anthonioz, Mourad Belkeddar, Jean Duhamel, Romain Gavras, Nicolas Lhermitte and Ladj Ly)

The Banshees of Inisherin (Graham Broadbent, Pete Czernin and Martin McDonagh)

Corsage (Maren Ade, Jonas Dornbach, Alexander Glehr, Janine Jackowski, Marie Kreutzer, Bernard Michaux, Jean-Christophe Reymond and Johanna Scherz)

Decision to Leave (Park Chan Wook)

Happening (Audrey Diwan, Alice Girard and Edouard Weil)

Saint Omer (Toufik Ayadi, Christophe Barral and Alice Diop)

Breakthrough Director Award

Antoneta Alamat Kusijanovic (Murina)

Elegance Bratton (The Inspection)

Beth de Araujo (Soft & Quiet)

Owen Kline (Funny Pages)

Jane Schoenbrun (We're All Going to the World's Fair)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Breakthrough Performer Award

Anna Cobb (We're All Going to the World's Fair)

Frankie Corio (Aftersun)

Anna Diop (Nanny)

Gracija Filipovic (Murina)

Kali Reis (Catch the Fair One)


bottom of page