top of page

2022 Georgia Film Critics Association awards nominations announced

Michelle Williams, The Fabelmans, Steven Spielberg, Georgia Film Critics Association
Michelle Williams in The Fabelmans

I recall being a tad dismissive toward the Georgia Film Critics Association when it was founded a few years back, but the subsequent years have proved my dismissiveness quite misplaced! Their 2022 awards nominations are a fairly stellar bunch overall, as usual, with some welcome, healthy appreciation for movies like The Fabelmans (with eight nominations), Decision to Leave (with five) and Nope (with six). Alas, it's still Everything Everywhere All at Once leading the pack with nine mentions, but beggers can't always be choosers! Winners will be announced on 13 January.

Best Picture

After Yang

The Banshees of Inisherin

Decision to Leave

Everything Everywhere All at Once

The Fabelmans

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery




Top Gun: Maverick

Best Director

Decision to Leave (Park Chan Wook)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert)

The Fabelmans (Steven Spielberg)

Nope (Jordan Peele)

Tar (Todd Field)

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett (Tar)

Danielle Deadwyler (Till)

Tang Wei (Decision to Leave)

Michelle Williams (The Fabelmans)

Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Actor

Austin Butler (Elvis)

Colin Farrell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Brendan Fraser (The Whale)

Paul Mescal (Aftersun)

Park Hae Il (Decision to Leave)

Best Supporting Actress

Angela Bassett (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)

Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Jamie Lee Curtis (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Stephanie Hsu (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Janelle Monae (Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery)

Keke Palmer (Nope)

Best Supporting Actor

Brendan Gleeson (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Brian Tyree Henry (Causeway)

Judd Hirsch (The Fabelmans)

Barry Keoghan (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Quan Ke Huy (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Original Screenplay

The Banshees of Inisherin (Martin McDonagh)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert)

The Fabelmans (Tony Kushner and Steven Spielberg)

Nope (Jordan Peele)

Tar (Todd Field)

Best Adapted Screenplay

After Yang (Kogonada)

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery (Rian Johnson)

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio (Guillermo del Toro, Gris Grimly, Patrick McHale and Matthew Robbins)

She Said (Rebecca Lenkiewicz)

Women Talking (Sarah Polley and Miriam Toews)

Best Cinematography

Bardo, False Chronicle of a Handful of Truths (Darius Khondji)

The Batman (Greig Fraser)

The Fabelmans (Janusz Kaminski)

Nope (Hoyte van Hoytema)

Top Gun: Maverick (Claudio Miranda)

Best Production Design

Avatar: The Way of Water (Dylan Cole, Vanessa Cole and Ben Procter)

Babylon (Anthony Carlino and Florencia Martin)

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (Hannah Beachler and Lisa K. Sessions)

Elvis (Beverley Dunn, Catherine Martin and Karen Murphy)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Kelsi Ephraim and Jason Kisvarday)

Best Original Score

Babylon (Justin Hurwitz)

The Batman (Michael Giacchino)

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (Ludwig Goransson)

The Fabelmans (John Williams)

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio (Alexandre Desplat)

Nope (Michael Abels)

Best Original Song

"Carolina" - Taylor Swift (Where the Crawdads Sing)

"Ciao Papa" - Guillermo del Toro, Alexandre Desplat and Roeban Katz (Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio)

"Hold My Hand" - BloodPop, Lady Gaga and Ben Rice (Top Gun: Maverick)

"Lift Me Up" - Ryan Coogler, Ludwig Goransson, Rihanna and Tems (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)

"Naatu Naatu" - Kaala Bhairava, M. M. Keeravani and Rahul Sipligunj (RRR)

Best Ensemble

The Banshees of Inisherin

Everything Everywhere All at Once

The Fabelmans

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery

Women Talking

Best Animated Film

Apollo 10 1/2: A Space Age Childhood

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio

Marcel the Shell with Shoes On

Puss in Boots: The Last Wish

Turning Red

Best Documentary Film

All That Breathes

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed


Fire of Love

Good Night Oppy


Best International Film

All Quiet on the Western Front

Argentina, 1985


Decision to Leave


Breakthrough Award

Danielle Deadwyler

Stephanie Hsu

Tenoch Huerta

Gabriel LaBelle

Amber Midthunder

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema

Bad Dream (Camilo Diaz Caro and Colby Hollman)

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (Joe Robert Cole and Ryan Coogler)

Devotion (Jake Crane, J. D. Dillard and Jonathan Stewart)

Emergency (K. D. Davila and Carey Williams)

Glitter Ain't Gold (Christian Nolan Jones)

Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul. (Adamma Ebo)

I Want You Back (Isaac Aptaker, Elizabeth Berger and Jason Orley)

The Menu (Mark Mylod, Seth Reiss and Will Tracy)

Refuge (Din Blankenship and Eric Levin Bernhardt)

Till (Keith Beauchamp, Chinonye Chukwu and Michael Reilly)


bottom of page