top of page

2022 Chicago Indie Critics award winners announced

Ram Charan, N. T. Rama Rao Jr., RRR, S. S. Rajamouli, Chicago Indie Critics
Ram Charan and N. T. Rama Rao Jr. in RRR

Winners have been announced for the Chicago Indie Critics' awards for 2022. The CIC splits its top category in two, with a prize for studio films and a prize for independent films. Those awards this year have been won, respectively, by RRR and Everything Everywhere All at Once, with the latter coming out on top overall, with six wins to the former's three. Other multiple award winners here include Avatar: The Way of Water, Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery and Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio. Check out the 2022 CIC awards nominations here, and all the winners below.

Best Studio Film (budgets over $25 million)

RRR (D. V. V. Danayya)

Best Independent Film (budgets under $25 million)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Dan Kwan, Mike Larocca, Anthony Russo, Joe Russo, Daniel Scheinert and Jonathan Wang)

Best Director

Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Actress

Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Actor

Colin Farrell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Best Supporting Actress

Janelle Monae (Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery)

Best Supporting Actor

Quan Ke Huy (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Original Screenplay

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Women Talking (Sarah Polley)

Best Cinematography

Top Gun: Maverick (Claudio Miranda)

Best Editing

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Paul Rogers)

Best Production Design

Avatar: The Way of Water (Dylan Cole, Vanessa Cole and Ben Procter)

Best Costume Design

The Woman King (Gersha Phillips)

Best Visual Effects

Avatar: The Way of Water (Richard Baneham, Daniel Barrett, Joe Letteri and Eric Saindon)

Best Makeup

The Batman (Naomi Donne, Mike Fontaine and Michael Marino)

Best Musical Score

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio (Alexandre Desplat)

Best Original Song

"Naatu Naatu" - Chandrabose and M. M. Keeravani (RRR)

Best Ensemble Cast

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery (Bret Howe and Mary Vernieu, casting directors)

Best Stunts

RRR (Nick Powell)

Best Animated Film

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio (Alexander Bulkley, Corey Campodonico, Guillermo del Toro, Lisa Henson and Gary Ungar)

Best Documentary

Fire of Love (Shane Boris, Sara Dosa and Ina Fichman)

Best Foreign Language Film

Decision to Leave (Back Ji Sun, Ko Dae Sok and Park Chan Wook)

Breakout Artist Award

Austin Butler

Sight Unseen Performance Award

Jenny Slate (Marcel the Shell with Shoes On)

Impact Award (given to a person whose work has had a positive impact on the Chicagoland film community)

Sergio Mims


bottom of page