top of page

2022 BIFA Awards: Aftersun wins seven

Frankie Corio, Paul Mescal, Aftersun, Charlotte Wells
Frankie Corio and Paul Mescal in Aftersun

Big success for Charlotte Wells' debut feature Aftersun at the British Independent Film Awards as it wins seven prizes. Wells herself was the recipient of four: Best Film, Director, Screenplay, and Debut Director. Best Film nominee Blue Jean was also a multi-winner, with four awards to its name including both solo acting prizes, for Rosy McEwen in Lead and Kerrie Hayes in Supporting. Check out the 2022 BIFA nominees at this link, and all the winners below.

Best British Independent Film

Aftersun (Mark Ceryak, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins, Adele Romanski and Charlotte Wells)

Best Director

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Best Lead Performance

Rosy McEwen (Blue Jean)

Best Supporting Performance

Kerrie Hayes (Blue Jean)

Best Joint Lead Performance

Tamara Lawrance and Letitia Wright (The Silent Twins)

Best Screenplay

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Best Cinematography

Gregory Oke (Aftersun)

Best Editing

Blair McClendon (Aftersun)

Best Production Design

Helen Scott (Living)

Best Costume Design

Jenny Beavan (Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris)

Best Sound

Flux Gourmet (Raoul Brand, Tim Harrison and Cassandra Rutledge)

Best Effects

David Simpson (Men)

Best Make-Up & Hair Design

Scarlett O'Connell and Eugene Souleiman (Medusa Deluxe)

Best Original Music

Matthew Herbert (The Wonder)

Best Music Supervision

Lucy Bright (Aftersun)

Best Casting

Shaheen Baig (Blue Jean)

Best Ensemble Performance

Meriam Abbas, Mahmoud Abo al Abbas, Darina al Joundi, Labwa Arab, Basim Hajar, Amed Hashimi, Zainab Joda and Siham Mustafa (Our River... Our Sky)

Best Feature Documentary

Nothing Compares (Eleanor Emptage, Kathryn Ferguson and Michael Mallie)

Best International Independent Film

The Worst Person in the World (Andrea Berentsen Ottmar, Thomas Robsahm, Joachim Trier and Eskil Vogt)

Breakthrough Producer Award

Nadira Murray (Winners)

Best Debut Director

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Best Breakthrough Performance

Safia Oakley-Green (The Origin)

Best Debut Screenwriter

Georgia Oakley (Blue Jean)

Best Debut Director - Feature Documentary

Kathryn Ferguson (Nothing Compares)

The Raindance Discovery Award

Winners (Nadira Murray, Hassan Nazer and Paul Welsh)

Best British Short

Too Rough (Alfredo Covelli, Sean Lionadh and Ross McKenzie)


bottom of page