top of page

2021 National Society of Film Critics awards: Drive My Car wins Best Picture

Nishijima Hidetoshi, Drive My Car, Hamaguchi Ryusuke, Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Hidetoshi Nishijima, National Society of Film Critics
Nishijima Hidetoshi in Drive My Car

Drive My Car wins another major critics' prize today with the results of voting on the National Society of Film Critics' 2021 awards. In fact, it wins four, taking Best Picture, Director (alongside helmer Hamaguchi's other 2021 release, Wheel of Fortune and Fantasy), Actor, and Screenplay, and placing as runner-up in none of the group's other categories. That's also a full half of the NSFC's competitive categories this year, meaning Drive My Car is also the only movie to win multiple awards. All the results below.

Best Picture

1 DRIVE MY CAR - 48 points

2 PETITE MAMAN - 25 points

3 THE POWER OF THE DOG - 23 points

Best Director

1 Hamaguchi Ryusuke (DRIVE MY CAR / WHEEL OF FORTUNE AND FANTASY) - 46 points

2 Jane Campion (THE POWER OF THE DOG) - 36 points

3 Celine Sciamma (PETITE MAMAN) - 28 points

Best Actress

1 Penelope Cruz (PARALLEL MOTHERS) - 55 points

2 Renate Reinsve (THE WORST PERSON IN THE WORLD) - 42 points

3 Alana Haim (LICORICE PIZZA) - 32 points

Best Actor

1 Nishijima Hidetoshi (DRIVE MY CAR) - 63 points

2 Benedict Cumberbatch (THE POWER OF THE DOG) - 44 points

3 Simon Rex (RED ROCKET) - 30 points

Best Supporting Actress

1 Ruth Negga (PASSING) - 46 points

2 Ariana DeBose (WEST SIDE STORY) - 22 points

3 Jessie Buckley (THE LOST DAUGHTER) - 21 points

Best Supporting Actor

1 Anders Danielsen Lie (THE WORST PERSON IN THE WORLD) - 54 points

2 Vincent Lindon (TITANE) - 33 points

3 Mike Faist (WEST SIDE STORY) - 26 points

Kodi Smit-McPhee (THE POWER OF THE DOG) - 26 points

Best Screenplay

1 Hamaguchi Ryusuke and Oe Takamasa (DRIVE MY CAR) - 46 points

2 Pedro Almodovar (PARALLEL MOTHERS) - 22 points

3 Paul Thomas Anderson (LICORICE PIZZA) - 20 points

Best Cinematography

1 Andrew Droz Palermo (THE GREEN KNIGHT) - 52 points

2 Ari Wegner (THE POWER OF THE DOG) - 40 points

3 Sayombhu Mukdeeprom (MEMORIA) - 35 points

Best Nonfiction Film

1 FLEE - 41 points

2 PROCESSION - 28 points


Film Heritage Award

Peter Bogdanovich and Bertrand Tavernier, distinguished critic-filmmakers who never lost their passion for other people's movies and film history

Maya Cade for the Black Film Archive, which expands knowledge of and access to Black films made between 1915 and 1979, and includes her critical essays that define the project and consider the films in relation to each other and to the cinema overall

Special Citation for a Film Awaiting U.S. Distribution

RETURNING TO REIMS (Jean-Gabriel Periot)


bottom of page