top of page

2021 Motion Picture Sound Editors Golden Reel Award winners announced

Stellfan Skarsgard, Dune, Denis Villeneuve, Motion Picture Sound Editors, Golden Reel Awards
Stellan Skarsgard in Dune

The 2021 Golden Reel awards weren't overly likely to all go to the same one or two movies - not if their nominations were anything to go by, and that's kind of what nominations are for. But voters from the Motion Picture Sound Editors weren't keen at all on letting any title hog all the glory, and split this year's slate of winners six ways across six categories. If there's a top prize here, it's the Feature Effects/Foley category, so Dune could be considered the biggest winner of the year; indeed, that movie's impressive sound editing is surely among the many reasons it's been winning sound trophies left, right and centre this awards season. It's currently set to do exactly the same at next week's Oscars, though watch out for a spoiler - maybe fellow Golden Reel Award recipient West Side Story? All the winners' details below.

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Editing - Feature Effects/Foley

DUNE (Theo Green, Mark A. Mangini, Dave Whitehead, Phil Barrie, Lee Gilmore, Greg ten Bosch, Bob Kellough, Piero Mura, Christopher Bonis, Andy Malcolm, Koyama Goro and Sandra Fox)

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Editing - Feature Dialogue/ADR

NIGHTMARE ALLEY (Jill Purdy and Nelson Ferreira)

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Editing - Feature Music

WEST SIDE STORY (Joe E. Rand, Ramiro Belgardt and David Channing)

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Editing - Feature Animation

RAYA AND THE LAST DRAGON (Shannon Mills, Brad Semenoff, Nia Hansen, Samson Neslund, David C. Hughes, Cameron Barker, Chris Frazier, Steve Orlando, John Roesch, Shelley Roden, Jim Weidman and David Olson)

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Editing - Feature Documentary

THE RESCUE (Deborah Wallach, Roland Vajs, Nuno Bento and Ben Smithers)

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Editing - Foreign Language Feature

CLIFF WALKERS (Yang Jiang, Zhao Nan, Li Xing Hui, Han Jun Sheng, Ann Scibelli, Xiao Ou Olivia Zhang and Iain Pattison)


bottom of page