top of page

2021 Cinema Audio Society award nominations announced

Daniel Craig, No Time to Die, Cary Joji Fukunaga, Cinema Audio Society
Daniel Craig in No Time to Die

The second of the sound guilds, after the Motion Picture Sound Editors, has announced the nominees for its 2021 awards: the Cinema Audio Society. Celebrating achievements in sound mixing, members of the society have selected nominees across three film categories, as well as further TV categories. Up for the Live Action prize, and each angling for a possible Best Sound Oscar nomination, are acclaimed titles such as The Power of the Dog, and blockbuster fare like No Time to Die. Combining the CAS nominations and the MPSE nominations (for Effects/Foley), we see that Dune, No Time to Die and Spider-Man: No Way Home have impressed voters across the field of sound design in cinema last year, and thus probably stand the best chances at landing Oscar nods next month. Winners for these awards will be announced on the 19th of March.

Outstanding Sound Mixing - Live Action

DUNE (Mac Ruth, Ron Bartlett, Doug Hemphill, Alan Meyerson, Thomas J. O'Connell and Don White)

NO TIME TO DIE (Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Mark Taylor, Stephen Lipson, Mark Appleby and Adam Mendez)

THE POWER OF THE DOG (Richard Flynn, Robert Mackenzie, Tara Webb, Graeme Stewart and Steve Burgess)

SPIDER-MAN: NO WAY HOME (Willie D. Burton, Kevin O'Connell, Tony Lamberti, Warren Brown, Howard London and Randy Singer)

WEST SIDE STORY (Tod A. Maitland, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom, Shawn Murphy, Doc Kane and Frank Rinella)

Outstanding Sound Mixing - Animated

ENCANTO (Paul McGrath, David E. Fluhr, Gabriel Guy, David Boucher, Alvin Wee, Doc Kane and Scott Curtis)

LUCA (Vince Caro, Christopher Scarabosio, Tony Villaflor, Greg Hayes, Jason Butler and Richard Duarte)

THE MITCHELLS VS THE MACHINES (Howard London, Aaron Hasson, Tony Lamberti, Michael Semanick and John Sanacore)

RAYA AND THE LAST DRAGON (Paul McGrath, David E. Fluhr, Gabriel Guy, Alan Meyerson, Doc Kane and Scott Curtis)

SING 2 (Edward Sutton, Gary A. Rizzo, Juan Peralta, Alan Meyerson, Robert Edwards and Frank Rinella)

Outstanding Sound Mixing - Documentary


SUMMER OF SOUL (...OR, WHEN THE REVOLUTION COULD NOT BE TELEVISED) (Paul Hsu, Roberto Fernandez and Paul Massey)

TINA (Caleb Mose, Lawrence Everson and Phil McGowan)

VAL (Michael Haldin, John Bolen, Garth Stevenson, Mitch Dorf)

THE VELVET UNDERGROUND (Juliana Henao Mesa and Leslie Shatz)


bottom of page