top of page

2020 Indiana Film Journalists Association awards announced

Sacha Baron Cohen and Maria Bakalova in Jason Woliner's Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Sacha Baron Cohen and Maria Bakalova in Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

The IFJA has declared the winners of its 2020 awards, with Chloe Zhao's Nomadland coming out on top. The drama starring Frances McDormand takes four big prizes including Best Film, and Best Actress for its leading lady. Borat Subsequent Moviefilm's breakout star Maria Bakalova wins another Best Supporting Actress award, while there's also significant support for titles such as Ma Rainey's Black Bottom and One Night in Miami. Check out the Indiana critics' substantial nominations for the year, and all the winners and runners-up below.

Best Film


Runner-up: Ma Rainey's Black Bottom


Another Round

The Assistant

Da 5 Bloods

First Cow

I'm Thinking of Ending Things


Never Rarely Sometimes Always

The Twentieth Century

Best Director

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Runner-up: Regina King (One Night in Miami)

Best Actress

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Runner-up: Jessie Buckley (I'm Thinking of Ending Things)

Best Actor

Delroy Lindo (Da 5 Bloods)

Runner-up: Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Best Supporting Actress

Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Runner-up: Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)

Best Supporting Actor

Leslie Odom Jr. (One Night in Miami)

Runner-up: Chadwick Boseman (Da 5 Bloods)

Best Original Screenplay

Eliza Hittman (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Runner-up: Matthew Rankin (The Twentieth Century)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Runner-up: Charlie Kaufman (I'm Thinking of Ending Things)

Best Musical Score

Ludwig Goransson (Tenet)

Runner-up: Emile Mosseri (Minari)

Best Ensemble Acting

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom

Runner-up: One Night in Miami

Best Animated Feature


Runner-up: Wolfwalkers

Best Documentary

Dick Johnson Is Dead

Runner-up: Athlete A

Best Foreign Language Film

Another Round

Runner-up: Song Without a Name

Breakout of the Year

Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Andrew Patterson (The Vast of Night)

Best Vocal / Motion Capture Performance

Jamie Foxx (Soul)

Runner-up: Sean Bean (Wolfwalkers)

Original Vision Award

The Twentieth Century

Runner-up: Dick Johnson Is Dead

Hoosier Award

Athlete A

Runner-up: Eliza Hittman (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)


bottom of page