top of page

2020/21 Writers Guild of America awards winners announced

Sacha Baron Cohen and Maria Bakalova in Jason Woliner's Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Sacha Baron Cohen and Maria Bakalova in Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Since I was asleep when the Writers Guild of America awards took place, and since I spent all of yesterday either doing more important work or worrying about doing more important work, I've been pretty late in publishing the winners. So you already know by now who's won, and you don't care about whatever commentary I don't care to write. Anyway, here are the nominations, and here are the winners:

Best Original Screenplay

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Sacha Baron Cohen, Peter Baynham, Jena Friedman, Anthony Hines, Lee Kern, Dan Mazer, Nina Pedrad, Erica Rivinoja and Dan Swimer (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm) - based on characters created by Sacha Baron Cohen

Best Documentary Screenplay

Bryan Fogel and Mark Monroe (The Dissident)


bottom of page