top of page

2020/21 Georgia Film Critics Association awards nominations announced

Riz Ahmed in Darius Marder's Sound of Metal
Riz Ahmed in Sound of Metal

The Georgia Film Critics Association has announced nominations for its 2020/21 awards, and Minari is out in front with eight nominations including Best Picture. Right behind it are Mank, One Night in Miami and Promising Young Woman, all with seven including both Best Picture and Director. The 11-strong Picture lineup includes animated film Soul and documentary Time, while the acting categories boast some welcome surprises such as The Personal History of David Copperfield's Dev Patel, I'm Thinking of Ending Things' Toni Collette, and First Cow's Orion Lee. Winners will be announced a week today, on the 12th of March.

Best Picture

The Father

I’m Thinking of Ending Things




One Night in Miami

Promising Young Woman


Sound of Metal


The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Director

Mank - David Fincher

Nomadland - Chloé Zhao

One Night in Miami - Regina King

Promising Young Woman - Emerald Fennell

Sound of Metal - Darius Marder

Best Actress

Viola Davis (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom)

Sidney Flanigan (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Vanessa Kirby (Pieces of a Woman)

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman)

Best Actor

Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal)

Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom)

Anthony Hopkins (The Father)

Dev Patel (The Personal History of David Copperfield)

Steven Yeun (Minari)

Best Supporting Actress

Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Toni Collette (I’m Thinking of Ending Things)

Olivia Colman (The Father)

Amanda Seyfried (Mank)

Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)

Best Supporting Actor

Sacha Baron Cohen (The Trial of the Chicago 7)

Daniel Kaluuya (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Orion Lee (First Cow)

Leslie Odom Jr. (One Night in Miami)

Paul Raci (Sound of Metal)

Best Original Screenplay

Mank - Jack Fincher

Minari - Lee Isaac Chung

Promising Young Woman - Emerald Fennell

Sound of Metal - Darius Marder, Abraham Marder

The Trial of the Chicago 7 - Aaron Sorkin

Best Adapted Screenplay

The Father - Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller

I’m Thinking of Ending Things - Charlie Kaufman

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom - Ruben Santiago-Hudson

Nomadland - Chloé Zhao

One Night in Miami - Kemp Powers

Best Cinematography

Da 5 Bloods - Newton Thomas Sigel

First Cow - Christopher Blauvelt

Mank - Erik Messerschmidt

Nomadland - Joshua James Richards

Tenet - Hoyte van Hoytema

Best Production Design

Emma. - Kave Quinn, Mark Lavis, Andrea Matheson, Alice Sutton

I’m Thinking of Ending Things - Molly Hughes, Gonzalo Cordoba, Merissa Lombardo

Mank - Donald Graham Burt, Chris Craine, Dan Webster

Promising Young Woman - Michael Perry, Liz Kloczkowski

Tenet - Nathan Crowley, Rory Bruen, Steve Christensen, Eggert Ketilsson, Jenne Lee, Justin O'Neal Miller, Benjamin Nowicki, Erik Osusky, Anthony D. Parrillo

Best Original Score

Mank - Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross

Minari - Emile Mosseri

News of the World - James Newton Howard

Soul - Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross

Tenet - Ludwig Göransson

Best Original Song

“Green” - Abraham Marder (Sound of Metal)

“Husavik” - Savan Kotecha, Rickard Göransson, Fat Max Gsus (Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga)

"Io Sì" - Diane Warren, Laura Pausini, Niccolò Agliardi (The Life Ahead)

"Rain Song" - Emile Mosseri (Minari)

"Speak Now" - Leslie Odom Jr., Sam Ashworth (One Night in Miami)

“Wuhan Flu” - Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Erran Baron Cohen (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Best Ensemble

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom


One Night in Miami

Promising Young Woman

The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Foreign Language Film

Another Round


La Llorona

Martin Eden


Night of the Kings

Breakthrough Award

Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Kingsley Ben-Adir (One Night in Miami)

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Sidney Flanigan (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Helena Zengel (News of the World)

Best Animated Film

The Croods: A New Age


Over the Moon



Best Documentary Film


Dick Johnson is Dead

The Dissident

The Painter and the Thief


Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema

The Banker (George Nolfi, Nicole Levy, Davis Lewis Smith, Stan Younger)

Freaky (Christopher Landon, Michael Kennedy)

The Glorias (Julie Taymor, Sarah Ruhl)

Greenland (Ric Roman Waugh, Chris Sparling)

In the Cold Dark Night (Nick Hampson, Stephen Robert Morse, Miikka Leskinen, Max Peltz)

Irresistible (Jon Stewart)

John Lewis: Good Trouble (Dawn Porter)

Love Bite (Charles de Lauzirika, Carlee Baker)

Petting Zoo (Daniel Robin)

Three Men Named Mantas (James Mackenzie)


bottom of page