top of page

2019 Writers Guild of America award nominations announced

Beanie Feldstein and Kaitlyn Dever in Olivia Wilde's Booksmart
Beanie Feldstein and Kaitlyn Dever in Booksmart

The Writers Guild of America award nominations for 2019 are up, and they're oddly light on the usual egregious choices made by voters here. As ever, the rules dictating that all nominees are also WGA members means that certain screenplays are ineligible, notably including Quentin Tarantino for Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood. Their liking for comic book adaptations is visible in Joker's nomination, while there's a rare non-English language nod for Parasite, and the utterly baffling inclusion of 1917 in Original Screenplay. Following its Golden Globes success yesterday, Sam Mendes' war movie is on quite the successful streak!

The WGA awards this year will take place on the 1st of February.

Best Original Screenplay

Noah Baumbach (Marriage Story)

Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won (Parasite)

Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins and Katie Silberman (Booksmart)

Rian Johnson (Knives Out)

Sam Mendes and Krysty Wilson-Cairns (1917)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Micah Fitzerman-Blue and Noah Harpster (A Beautiful Day in the Neighbourhood) - inspired by the article 'Can You Say... Hero?' by Tom Junod

Greta Gerwig (Little Women) - based on the novel by Louisa May Alcott

Todd Phillips and Scott Silver (Joker) - based on characters from DC comics

Taika Waititi (Jojo Rabbit) - based on the book 'Caging Skies' by Christine Leunens

Steven Zaillian (The Irishman) - based on the book 'I Heard You Paint Houses' by Charles Brandt

Best Documentary Screenplay

Alex Gibney (Citizen K)

Alex Gibney (The Inventor: Out for Blood in Silicon Valley)

Lauren Greenfield (The Kingmaker)

Mark Jonathan Harris (Foster)

Oren Rudavsky and Robert Seidman (Joseph Pulitzer: Voice of the People)

Image credit: MovieStillsDB

7 views0 comments


bottom of page