top of page

2019 USC Scripter Award nominations

Mark Ruffalo in Todd Haynes' Dark Waters
Mark Ruffalo in Dark Waters

In one of our most interesting stop-offs each awards season, the University of Southern California hands out an award for the best movie adaptation of the year. Rather than merely honouring the screenwriters, however, the USC voters also honour the writers of the original source material. Over the years, the Scripter award has become one of the most prestigious prizes a screenwriter can receive, so these nominees are in line for a very handsome prize. The winner will be declared on the 25th of January.

USC Scripter Award

Matthew Michael Carnahan and Mario Correa (Dark Waters) - based on the New York Times Magazine article 'The Lawyer Who Became DuPont's Worst Nightmare' by Nathaniel Rich

Greta Gerwig (Little Women) - based on the novel by Louisa May Alcott

Anthony McCarten (The Two Popes) - based on his play The Pope

Taika Waititi (Jojo Rabbit) - based on the novel Caging Skies by Christine Leunens

Steven Zaillian (The Irishman) - based on the nonfiction work I Heard You Paint Houses by Charles Brandt

Image credit: MovieStillsDB

7 views0 comments


bottom of page