top of page

2019 Georgia Film Critics Association award nominations announced

Saoirse Ronan and Emma Watson in Greta Gerwig's Little Women
Saoirse Ronan and Emma Watson in Little Women

A relatively new critics' group on the scene, the Georgia Film Critics Association has nevertheless built up a fair share of clout for itself since its 2011 inception. This year, they've honoured Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood with nine nominations for its eighth annual awards, with Little Women right behind with eight. This is a solid slate overall, fairly well reflecting the general consensus among the critics this year.

Award winners will be announced a week today, on the 10th of January.

Best Picture


The Farewell

Ford v. Ferrari

A Hidden Life

The Irishman

Little Women

Marriage Story

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood


Uncut Gems

Best Director

Bong Joon Ho (Parasite)

Sam Mendes (1917)

Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie (Uncut Gems)

Martin Scorsese (The Irishman)

Quentin Tarantino (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Actress

Awkwafina (The Farewell)

Scarlett Johansson (Marriage Story)

Lupita Nyong'o (Us)

Saoirse Ronan (Little Women)

Renee Zellweger (Judy)

Best Actor

Antonio Banderas (Pain & Glory)

Leonardo DiCaprio (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Adam Driver (Marriage Story)

Joaquin Phoenix (Joker)

Adam Sandler (Uncut Gems)

Best Supporting Actress

Kathy Bates (Richard Jewell)

Laura Dern (Marriage Story)

Jennifer Lopez (Hustlers)

Florence Pugh (Little Women)

Margot Robbie (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Zhao Shu Zhen (The Farewell)

Best Supporting Actor

Willem Dafoe (The Lighthouse)

Tom Hanks (A Beautiful Day in the Neighbourhood)

Al Pacino (The Irishman)

Joe Pesci (The Irishman)

Brad Pitt (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Original Screenplay

Noah Baumbach (Marriage Story)

Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won (Parasite)

Rian Johnson (Knives Out)

Quentin Tarantino (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Lulu Wang (The Farewell)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Greta Gerwig (Little Women)

Todd Phillips and Scott Silver (Joker)

Lorene Scafaria (Hustlers)

Taika Waititi (Jojo Rabbit)

Steven Zaillian (The Irishman)

Best Cinematography

Jarin Blaschke (The Lighthouse)

Roger Deakins (1917)

Claire Mathon (Portrait of a Lady on Fire)

Robert Richardson (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Hoyte van Hoytema (Ad Astra)

Jorg Widmer (A Hidden Life)

Best Production Design

Chris Farmer and Jess Gonchor (Little Women)

Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales (1917)

Nancy Haigh and Barbara Ling (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Craig Lathrop and Matt Likely (The Lighthouse)

Lee Ha Jun (Parasite)

Best Original Score

Michael Abels (Us)

Alexandre Desplat (Little Women)

Hildur Gudnadottir (Joker)

Jung Jae Il (Parasite)

Daniel Lopatin (Uncut Gems)

Thomas Newman (1917)

Best Original Song

Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez - 'Into The Unknown' (Frozen II)

Bong Joon Ho and Jung Jae Il - 'A Glass Of Soju' (Parasite)

Joshuah Brian Campbell and Cynthia Erivo - 'Stand Up' (Harriet)

Elton John and Bernie Taupin - '(I'm Gonna) Love Me Again' (Rocketman)

Caitlin Smith, Mary Steenburgen and Kate York - 'Glasgow (No Place Like Home)' (Wild Rose)

Best Ensemble

The Irishman

Knives Out

Little Women

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood


Best Animated Film

Frozen II How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World

I Lost My Body

Missing Link

Toy Story 4

Best Documentary Film

American Factory

Apollo 11

The Biggest Little Farm


Love, Antosha

Midnight Family

Best Foreign Language Film

The Farewell

Long Day's Journey Into Night

Pain & Glory


Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Breakthrough Award

Awkwafina (The Farewell / Jumanji: The Next Level / Paradise Hills)

Ana de Armas (The Informer / Knives Out / Wasp Network)

Julia Fox (Uncut Gems)

Kelvin Harrison Jr. (Bolden / Gully / Luce / Waves / The Wolf Hour)

George MacKay (1917 / A Guide to Second Date Sex / Nuclear / True History of the Kelly Gang)

Florence Pugh (Fighting with My Family / Little Women / Midsommar)

Taylor Russell (Escape Room / Waves)

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema

Avengers: Endgame (Christopher Markus, Stephen McFeely, Anthony Russo and Joe Russo)

Doctor Sleep (Mike Flanagan)

Ford v. Ferrari (Jez Butterworth, John-Henry Butterworth, Jason Keller and James Mangold)

Greener Grass (Jocelyn DeBoer and Dawn Luebbe)

Gryphon Animo (Matthew Maloney)

Jumanji: The Next Level (Jake Kasdan, Jeff Pinkner and Scott Rosenberg)

Just Mercy (Destin Daniel Cretton and Andrew Lanham)

The Peanut Butter Falcon (Tyler Nilson and Michael Schwartz)

Reckoning (Lane Skye and Ruckus Skye)

Richard Jewell (Clint Eastwood and Billy Ray)

Summer Night (Joseph Cross and Jordan Jolliff)

Image credit: MovieStillsDB

12 views0 comments


bottom of page