top of page

2019 Critics Consensus Award nominations

Robert de Niro in Martin Scorsese's The Irishman
Robert de Niro in The Irishman

The end of awards season brings with it the Critics Consensus Awards here on SOS! Points values are applied to wins, nominations and mentions in critics' end-of-year awards and polls. Those points are then multiplied by a factor relating to their influence, size or legitimacy, meaning the big groups (like Cahiers du Cinema or the NYFCC) give out more points than the little ones (usually regional, fledgling critics' groups). I've been doing this now for over a decade every awards season, and last year extended it back retroactively to 1969, so these will be the 51st SOS Critics Consensus Awards!

The Irishman leads with 10 nominations on the eve of potentially losing 10 nominations at the Oscars! Its haul here is particularly impressive given that there are fewer categories here in which it's eligible. Marriage Story also equals its Oscar nomination total with 6, while Parasite and Little Women actually beat theirs with 7 each. The latter, however, misses out on a Best Picture nod just as it missed out on an Oscar Best Director nod. Greta Gerwig just can't catch a break this year!

The Best Picture slate is rounded out by 1917 and Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood, both of which fall short of their Oscar hauls, mainly due to the category differences. That makes 2019 the first time since 2010 when all five CCA Best Picture nominees are also up for the Best Picture Oscar! Those who made it there but miss here include, as aforementioned, Little Women, and three other titles whose performances here utterly pale in comparison: Oscar nomination leader Joker with just 2 mentions, Jojo Rabbit with 1, and Ford v Ferrari, shut out altogether.

Tomorrow, I'll reveal the winners of the 2019 Critics Consensus Awards!

Best Picture

1917 (Pippa Harris, Callum McDougall, Sam Mendes, Brian Oliver and Jayne-Ann Tenggren)

The Irishman (Gerald Chamales, Robert de Niro, Randall Emmett, Gabriele Israilovici, Gaston Pavlovich, Jane Rosenthal, Martin Scorsese, Emma Tillinger Koskoff and Irwin Winkler)

Marriage Story (Noah Baumbach and David Heyman)

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood (David Heyman, Shannon McIntosh and Quentin Tarantino)

Parasite (Bong Joon Ho, Jang Young Hwan, Kwak Sin Ae and Moon Yang Kwon)

Best Director

Bong Joon Ho (Parasite)

Greta Gerwig (Little Women)

Sam Mendes (1917)

Martin Scorsese (The Irishman)

Quentin Tarantino (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Awkwafina (The Farewell)

Scarlett Johansson (Marriage Story)

Lupita Nyong'o (Us)

Saoirse Ronan (Little Women)

Renee Zellweger (Judy)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Antonio Banderas (Pain and Glory)

Robert de Niro (The Irishman)

Adam Driver (Marriage Story)

Joaquin Phoenix (Joker)

Adam Sandler (Uncut Gems)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Laura Dern (Marriage Story)

Jennifer Lopez (Hustlers)

Florence Pugh (Little Women)

Margot Robbie (Bombshell)

Zhao Shu Zhen (The Farewell)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Willem Dafoe (The Lighthouse)

Tom Hanks (A Beautiful Day in the Neighbourhood)

Al Pacino (The Irishman)

Joe Pesci (The Irishman)

Brad Pitt (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Original Screenplay

Noah Baumbach (Marriage Story)

Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won (Parasite)

Rian Johnson (Knives Out)

Quentin Tarantino (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Lulu Wang (The Farewell)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Micah Fitzerman-Blue and Noah Harpster (A Beautiful Day in the Neighbourhood)

Greta Gerwig (Little Women)

Anthony McCarten (The Two Popes)

Taika Waititi (Jojo Rabbit)

Steven Zaillian (The Irishman)

Best Cinematography

Jarin Blaschke (The Lighthouse)

Roger Deakins (1917)

Claire Mathon (Portrait of a Lady on Fire)

Rodrigo Prieto (The Irishman)

Robert Richardson (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Editing

Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie (Uncut Gems)

Fred Raskin (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Thelma Schoonmaker (The Irishman)

Lee Smith (1917)

Yang Jin Mo (Parasite)

Best Production Design

Dennis Gassner (1917)

Jess Gonchor (Little Women)

Lee Ha Jun (Parasite)

Barbara Ling (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Bob Shaw (The Irishman)

Best Music

Michael Abels (Us)

Alexandre Desplat (Little Women)

Hildur Gudnadottir (Joker)

Randy Newman (Marriage Story)

Thomas Newman (1917)

Best Ensemble Cast

Austin Butler, Julia Butters, Bruce Dern, Leonardo DiCaprio, Dakota Fanning, Emile Hirsch, Damian Lewis, Mike Moh, Timothy Olyphant, Al Pacino, Luke Perry, Brad Pitt, Margaret Qualley and Margot Robbie (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

K. Callan, Toni Collette, Daniel Craig, Jamie Lee Curtis, Ana de Armas, Chris Evans, Don Johnson, Katherine Langford, Riki Lindhome, Jaeden Martell, Frank Oz, Edi Patterson, Christopher Plummer, Noah Segan, Michael Shannon and Lakeith Stanfield (Knives Out)

Bobby Cannavale, Robert de Niro, Stephen Graham, Harvey Keitel, Al Pacino, Anna Paquin, Joe Pesci and Ray Romano (The Irishman)

Timothee Chalamet, Chris Cooper, Laura Dern, Louis Garrel, Jayne Houdyshell, Tracy Letts, James Norton, Bob Odenkirk, Florence Pugh, Saoirse Ronan, Eliza Scanlen, Meryl Streep and Emma Watson (Little Women)

Choi Woo Sik, Jang Hye Jin, Jo Yeo Jeong, Jung Hyun Jun, Jung Ji So, Lee Jeong Eun, Lee Sun Kyun, Park Myeong Hoon, Park So Dam and Song Kang Ho (Parasite)

Best Animated Feature

Frozen II (Chris Buck, Peter del Vecho and Jennifer Lee)

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (Bonnie Arnold, Dean DeBlois and Bradford Lewis)

I Lost My Body (Jeremy Clapin and Marc du Pontavice)

Missing Link (Chris Butler, Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner)

Toy Story 4 (Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen, Jonas Rivera and Galyn Susman)

Best Documentary

American Factory (Steven Bognar, Julie Parker Benello, Jeff Reichert and Julia Reichert)

Apollo 11 (Evan Krauss, Todd Douglas Miller and Thomas Petersen)

For Sama (Waad Al-Kateab and Edward Watts)

Honeyland (Atanas Georgiev, Tamara Kotevska and Ljubomir Stefanov)

One Child Nation (Christopher Clements, Julie Goldman, Carolyn Hepburn, Christoph Jorg, Wang Nan Fu and Zhang Jia Ling)

Best Foreign Language Film

Atlantics (Mati Diop, Judith Lou Levy and Eve Robin)

The Farewell (Anita Gou, Andrew Miano, Peter Saraf, Daniele Tate Melia, Marc Turtletaub, Lulu Wang, Chris Weitz and Jane Zheng)

Pain and Glory (Agustin Almodovar, Pedro Almodovar, Ricardo Marco Bude, Esther Garcia and Ignacio Salazar-Simpson)

Parasite (Bong Joon Ho, Jang Young Hwan, Kwak Sin Ae and Moon Yang Kwon)

Portrait of a Lady on Fire (Benedicte Couvreur and Celine Sciamma)

Image credit: MovieStillsDB

14 views0 comments


bottom of page