top of page

1st annual Minnesota Film Critics Alliance award winners announced

Frances McDormand in Chloe Zhao's Nomadland
Frances McDormand in Nomadland

Just when we thought the barrage of critics' awards was over (apart from the Dorian Awards), along comes a bunch of newbies in the form of the Minnesota Film Critics Alliance. Not that they had anything particularly new to say - they've chosen resolute awards season champ Nomadland as the Best Picture of the 2020/21 movie season, also awarding it Best Director for Chloe Zhao, and Best Cinematography. Check out all the award winners below.

Best Picture

Winner: Nomadland (Mollye Asher, Dan Janvey, Frances McDormand, Peter Spears and

Chloe Zhao)

Runner-up: Promising Young Woman (Tom Ackerley, Ben Browning, Emerald Fennell,

Ashley Fox, Josey McNamara and Margot Robbie)

Nominees: Da 5 Bloods (Jon Kilik, Spike Lee, Beatriz Levin and Lloyd Levin)

The Invisible Man (Jason Blum and Kylie du Fresne)

Judas and the Black Messiah (Ryan Coogler, Charles D. King and Shaka King)

Minari (Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner and Christina Oh)

Sound of Metal (Sacha ben Harroche, Bill Benz, Kathy Benz and Bert Hamelinck)

Best Director

Winner: Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Runner-up: Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Spike Lee (Da 5 Bloods)

Nominees: Lee Isaac Chung (Minari)

Shaka King (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Best Actress

Winner: Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman)

Runner-up: Elisabeth Moss (The Invisible Man)

Nominees: Viola Davis (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Sidney Flanigan (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Vanessa Kirby (Pieces of a Woman)

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Best Actor

Winner: Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Delroy Lindo (Da 5 Bloods)

Runner-up: Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal)

Anthony Hopkins (The Father)

Lakeith Stanfield (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Steven Yeun (Minari)

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)

Runner-up: Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Nominees: Olivia Colman (The Father)

Dominique Fishback (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Amanda Seyfried (Mank)

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Daniel Kaluuya (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Runner-up: Paul Raci (Sound of Metal)

Nominees: Chadwick Boseman (Da 5 Bloods)

Bo Burnham (Promising Young Woman)

Alan S. Kim (Minari)

Leslie Odom Jr. (One Night in Miami)

Best Screenplay

Winner: Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Runner-up: Aaron Sorkin (The Trial of the Chicago 7)

Leigh Whannell (The Invisible Man)

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Nominees: Danny Bilson, Paul de Meo, Spike Lee and Kevin Willmott (Da 5 Bloods)

Lee Isaac Chung (Minari)

Charlie Kaufman (I'm Thinking of Ending Things)

Best Cinematography

Winner: Joshua James Richards (Nomadland)

Runner-up: Stefan Dusco (The Invisible Man)

Nominees: Sean Bobbitt (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Lachlan Milne (Minari)

Newton Thomas Sigel (Da 5 Bloods)

Best Editing

Winner: Mikkel E G. Nielsen (Sound of Metal)

Runner-up: Robert Frazen (I'm Thinking of Ending Things)

Nominees: Alan Baumgarten (The Trial of the Chicago 7)

Adam Gough (Da 5 Bloods)

Kristan Sprague (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Frederic Thoraval (Promising Young Woman)

Harry Yoon (Minari)

Best Production Design

Winner: K. K. Barrett (Birds of Prey: and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley


Runner-up: Donald Graham Burt (Mank)

Nominees: David Crank (News of the World)

Peter Francis (The Father)

Molly Hughes (I'm Thinking of Ending Things)

Kave Quinn (Emma.)

Mark Ricker (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Best Sound Work

Winner: Sound of Metal

Runner-up: The Invisible Man

Nominees: Da 5 Bloods


I'm Thinking of Ending Things

Best Special Effects

Winner: The Invisible Man

Runner-up: Tenet

Nominees: Birds of Prey: and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn




Wonder Woman 1984

Best Music

Winner: Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Soul)

Runner-up: Terence Blanchard (Da 5 Bloods)

Nominees: D'Mile, Craig Harris, H.E.R., Mark Isham and Tiara Thomas (Judas and the Black


Emile Mosseri (Minari)

Benjamin Wallfisch (The Invisible Man)

Anthony Willis (Promising Young Woman)

Best Animated Film

Winner: Soul (Dana Murray)

Runner-up: Wolfwalkers (Tomm Moore, Stephan Roelants, Nora Twomey and Paul Young)

Nominees: Onward (Kori Rae)

Over the Moon (Chou Pei Lin and Gennie Rim)

A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon (Paul Kewley)


bottom of page